Evidence of Human Presence- Ideas

ARTISTS/ PHOTOGRAPHERS WHO HAVE INSPIRED ME

ANNA MIKA

Anna Mika is a photographer who chooses to explore old buildings such as decaying mills and factories.
What drew me into her work was how she captured the beauty of abandoned buildings. Although abandoned and uncared of, Mika still managed to show how something so old and forgotten can still look amazing in some way-that these huge structures were left as evidences to exhibit the creative minds of human beings.

The idea that she also explores how there will always be traces of human presence left behind intrigues me as she shows it using objects which may depict a sign of life such as paranormal activity.

MARK BLUNDELL

Mark Blundell is a photographer who is inspired by taking photographs of abandoned buildings that was left behind by human beings. He explores the idea of decaying structures and at the same captures the elegance and beauty behind it, which is why I have also chosen him as one of the photographers that have inspired me.

EUGENE RICHARDS

Eugene Richards captures some of the most truthful images I have seen as he explores the idea of mundane life in a serious, literal and realistic way. By looking through his photographs, I could also experience the pain, happiness and other emotions felt by the people he has taken photographs of.

JILL GREENBERG

Jill Greenberg is also another photographer which explores the idea of emotion through human beings. My opinions of her photographs are I believe are about how human beings feel when in pain. The fact that she used young children to express the emotions of sadness makes me think that they are more honest in showing their emotions than adults, therefore, they are more likely to be showing real emotions.

ROGER BALLEN

Like Diane Arbus, Roger Ballen is also a photographer who captures photographs of people marginalised by society. Through his photographs I can see the idea of Ballen trying to show their real identies by portraiture.

Contact Sheet

Contact Sheet. 1Contact Sheet. 2

FIRST VISUAL IDEA

Originally, I have planned to take photographs of abandoned buildings but for now, I was inspired by the artists as shown above. My ideas include capturing the inner emotions from people who have lost someone close from their life.

During this process, I decided to take pictures of my mother writing a letter to my late father who passed away a long time ago and photographed her emotions as she wrote the letter.

These were the results:

I’ve decided to make the images black and white to add more emotion to the photograph.

IMG_8953

 

IMG_8955

Another image that I have captured was from my older brother. I have also asked him to write a letter just like I have with my mother.

IMG_8998

 

IMG_8988

Purpose

The reason why I captured these photographs was to explore the idea that although a person has left this world, they will always leave a trace of presence from those left behind who are still alive. This causes those who remained to feel empty- as if they were missing a piece inside them which unfortunately they can never fill no matter how they tried.

Leave a comment